Nos juges

La bière inscrite à la Coupe des bières du Canada sera jugée par des juges internationaux de haut niveau, afin d'attirer l'attention du monde entier sur l'excellence des microbrasseries canadiennes.

Stephen Beaumont

Juge en chef

Canada

Stephen Beaumont est l'une des voix les plus réputées au monde en matière de bière et l'auteur ou le co-auteur de 15 livres, dont la toute nouvelle troisième édition du best-seller international The World Atlas of Beer. En plus d'écrire pour un large éventail de publications, du Globe and Mail au Whisky Advocate en passant par Brewing Business, Stephen a présenté des conférences et des dégustations dans le monde entier et a été juge dans plusieurs des compétitions les plus prestigieuses du monde de la bière, notamment les World Beer Awards, Copa Cervezas de América et le Brussels Beer Challenge.

beaumontdrinks.com

Canada Beer Cup Judge Pete Brown

Pete Brown

Royaume-Uni

Pete Brown est un auteur, journaliste, animateur et consultant britannique spécialisé dans la nourriture et les boissons, en particulier les aspects amusants comme la bière, les pubs, le cidre, les bacon rolls et le fish and chips. Dans ses 12 livres, son approche large et fraîche englobe l'histoire sociale, les commentaires culturels, les récits de voyage, la découverte personnelle et l'histoire naturelle, et ses mots sont toujours prononcés avec la chaleur et l'esprit que l'on attend d'une bonne soirée au pub. Il écrit pour des journaux et des magazines du monde entier et participe régulièrement à l'émission Food Programme de la BBC Radio 4. Il a été nommé écrivain britannique de l’année du secteur brassicole en 2009, 2012 et 2016, a remporté trois le Fortnum & Mason Food and Drink Award, a été sélectionné deux fois pour les Andre Simon Awards et, en 2020, a été nommé "légende de l'industrie" lors des Imbibe Hospitality Awards.

Canada Beer Cup Judge Maurizio Maestrelli

Maurizio Maestrelli

Italie

Maurizio Maestrelli est un journaliste et un auteur basé à Milan. Ses écrits sont axés sur la bière, les spiritueux et les cocktails, racontés sous différents angles : personnes, marchés, voyages. Parmi les publications auxquelles il contribue actuellement, citons Il Sole 24 Ore, le premier quotidien financier d'Italie, Good Beer Hunting, Bargiornale, le principal magazine italien sur les bars et les boissons, et le magazine grec Beer & Bar. Il est également l'auteur de Speakeasy : Les bars les plus secrets du monde; Birre : la preuve que Dieu nous aime, et Anthologin. Il voyage beaucoup, effectuant des recherches, des dégustations et des concours, et il est le fondateur de la "Milano Beer Week".

Canada Beer Cup Judge Kate Bernot

Kate Bernot

Etats-Unis

Kate Bernot est une journaliste spécialisée dans le domaine de la bière et des boissons dont les articles paraissent régulièrement dans Good Beer Hunting et Craft Beer & Brewing Magazine ; elle a également signé des articles dans Imbibe, America's Test Kitchen, Craft Spirits Magazine, etc. Elle est juge de bière certifiée BJCP et professionnelle certifiée du cidre. Elle vit à Missoula, dans le Montana.
Canada Beer Cup Judge Tim Webb

Tim Webb

Royaume-Uni

In a career spanning 40 years, Tim Webb has witnessed and chronicled the return of craft brewing around the world. After six years on the board of the Campaign for Real Ale (CAMRA), during which he ran the Great British Beer Festival and co-founded its publishing company, he went on to write eight editions of Good Beer Guide Belgium, for which he has won awards in four countries, and co-author three editions of The World Atlas of Beer, in addition to several other titles.
Canada Beer Cup Judge John Holl

John Holl

Etats-Unis

John Holl est un journaliste spécialisé dans l'industrie de la bière. Il anime le podcast Drink Beer, Think Beer, co-animateur de Steal This Beer, et collaborateur du magazine Wine Enthusiast. Holl est l'auteur de plusieurs livres, dont The American Craft Beer Cookbook.

Canada Beer Cup Judge Jay R. Brooks

Jay R. Brooks

Etats-Unis

Jay R. Brooks écrit sur la bière depuis 30 ans et est actuellement chroniqueur de presse affilié pour le Bay Area News Group avec sa chronique bihebdomadaire "Brooks on Beer". Il est contributeur à plusieurs revues importantes sur la bière et à des magazines à grand tirage, et a fait de nombreuses présentations pour la California Craft Brewers Association et la Brewers Association, entre autres organisations. Il a jugé des concours de bière sur cinq continents, notamment le Great American Beer Festival, le Great British Beer Festival, la World Beer Cup, le Brussels Beer Challenge et bien d'autres.
Canada Beer Cup Judge Ren Navarro

Ren Navarro

Canada

Forte d'une expérience de près de 10 ans dans le secteur des boissons alcoolisées, d'une passion pour l'encouragement de la croissance personnelle et professionnelle et de son sens de l’humour caractéristique, Ren Navarro est ici pour éduquer, éclairer et engager. Depuis qu'elle a lancé Beer. Diversity. en 2018, Ren est devenue un nom connu dans les brasseries, les établissements vinicoles, les distilleries, et au-delà. Elle a donné des conférences sur la diversité et l'inclusion dans plusieurs collèges et d'innombrables festivals, panels, émissions de radio et podcasts dans toute l'Amérique du Nord. En plus d'être une éducatrice en matière de diversité, elle est une consultante en bières artisanales pour les bars et les restaurants de l'Ontario et une éducatrice pour d'innombrables entreprises à travers le pays.
Canada Beer Cup Judge Joe Wiebe

Joe Wiebe

Canada

Joe Wiebe est le "Thirsty Writer", l'auteur de Craft Beer Revolution : The Insider's Guide to B.C. Breweries, le guide définitif de l'industrie florissante de la bière artisanale en Colombie-Britannique. Joe écrit régulièrement des chroniques pour le Growler, le Northwest Brewing News, le Vancouver View, UrbanDiner.ca et le BC Craft Beer News, ainsi que des articles sur la bière dans la revue British Columbia, BCBusiness, WestWorld, Beer West, Taps, Publican, NUVO, Taste, Alive et Boulevard. Joe est cofondateur et coproducteur de la Victoria Beer Week et du projet BC Ale Trail. Il a produit la Victoria Beer Map et est le chroniqueur de la bière pour les émissions All Points West et BC Almanac de CBC Radio. Il est juge de bière pour l'Okanagan Fest of Ale et les BC Beer Awards.

Canada Beer Cup Judge Don Tse

Don Tse

Canada

Don Tse est un écrivain et consultant en matière de bière, connu dans le monde entier sous le nom de "Don of Beer". Il est actif dans le domaine de la bière artisanale depuis plus de 20 ans et est un juge classé au niveau national par le BJCP. Il a goûté et rédigé des notes de dégustation sur plus de 24 000 bières différentes. Don a également écrit pour des revues et fait des présentations sur la bière au Canada, aux États-Unis, au Royaume-Uni, en Australie, en Ukraine et à Singapour.

Recevez les dernières nouvelles dans votre boîte de réception.

Inscrivez-vous au bulletin d'information de l'AMBC pour recevoir des mises à jour sur la Coupe des bières du Canada et les dernières nouvelles de l'industrie.

Canadian Craft Brewers Association
Association des Microbrasseries Canadiennes
info@ccba-ambc.org
1400-340 rue Albert, Ottawa, ON
K1R 7Y6

Our Judges

Beer entered into the Canada Beer Cup will be judged by top international judges, helping bring global attention to Canadian craft brewing excellence.

Stephen Beaumont

Head Judge

Canada

Stephen Beaumont is one of the world’s most authoritative voices on beer and the author or co-author of 15 books, including the brand new third edition of the international best-seller, The World Atlas of Beer. As well as writing for a wide and diverse array of publications, from The Globe and Mail to Whisky Advocate to Brewing Business, Stephen has presented lectures and tastings all around the globe and judged in many of the beer world’s most prestigious competitions, including the World Beer Awards, Copa Cervezas de América, and the Brussels Beer Challenge.

beaumontdrinks.com

Canada Beer Cup Judge Pete Brown

Pete Brown

United Kingdom

Pete Brown is a British author, journalist, broadcaster and consultant specialising in food and drink, especially the fun parts like beer, pubs, cider, bacon rolls and fish and chips. Across twelve books, his broad, fresh approach takes in social history, cultural commentary, travel writing, personal discovery and natural history, and his words are always delivered with the warmth and wit you’d expect from a great night down the pub. He writes for newspapers and magazines around the world and is a regular contributor to BBC Radio 4’s Food Programme. He was named British Beer Writer of the Year in 2009, 2012 and 2016, has won three Fortnum & Mason Food and Drink Awards, been shortlisted twice for the Andre Simon Awards, and in 2020 was named an “Industry Legend” at the Imbibe Hospitality Awards.

Canada Beer Cup Judge Maurizio Maestrelli

Maurizio Maestrelli

Italy

Maurizio Maestrelli is a Milan-based journalist and author. His works are focused on beer, spirits and cocktails told from different perspectives: people, markets, travel. Among the publications he currently contributes to are Il Sole 24 Ore, the first daily financial newspaper in Italy; Good Beer Hunting; Bargiornale, the leading Italian magazine about bars and beverages; and the Greek Beer & Bar Magazine. He is also the author of Speakeasy. The most secret bars in the world, Birre. The proof that God loves us, and Anthologin. He travels extensively, researching, tasting, and judging competitions, and is the founder of “Milano Beer Week.”

Canada Beer Cup Judge Kate Bernot

Kate Bernot

USA

Kate Bernot is a beer and beverage reporter whose work regularly appears in Good Beer Hunting and Craft Beer & Brewing Magazine; her byline has also appeared in Imbibe, America’s Test Kitchen, Craft Spirits Magazine, and more. In 2021, she received three awards from the North American Guild of Beer Writers: third place in Best Business Writing; third place in Best Commentary; and second place in Best National/International Reporting. She is a BJCP-certified beer judge and a Certified Cider Professional. She lives in Missoula, Montana.
Canada Beer Cup Judge Tim Webb

Tim Webb

United Kingdom

In a career spanning 40 years, Tim Webb has witnessed and chronicled the return of craft brewing around the world. After six years on the board of the Campaign for Real Ale (CAMRA), during which he ran the Great British Beer Festival and co-founded its publishing company, he went on to write eight editions of Good Beer Guide Belgium, for which he has won awards in four countries, and co-author three editions of The World Atlas of Beer, in addition to several other titles.
Canada Beer Cup Judge John Holl

John Holl

USA

John Holl is a journalist covering the beer industry. He is the host of the Drink Beer, Think Beer podcast, cohost of Steal This Beer, and a contributing editor for Wine Enthusiast magazine. Holl is the author of several books including The American Craft Beer Cookbook.
Canada Beer Cup Judge Jay R. Brooks

Jay R. Brooks

USA

Jay R. Brooks has been writing about beer for 30 years, and is currently a syndicated newspaper columnist for the Bay Area News Group with his bi-weekly column, “Brooks On Beer.” He contributes to many major beer periodicals and general circulation magazines, and has given numerous presentations for the California Craft Brewers Association and the Brewers Association, among other organizations. He has judged in beer competitions on five continents, including the Great American Beer Festival, the Great British Beer Festival, the World Beer Cup, The Brussels Beer Challenge and many others.
Canada Beer Cup Judge Ren Navarro

Ren Navarro

Canada

With nearly a decade of experience in the alcohol industry, a passion for encouraging personal and professional growth, and her trademark wit, Ren Navarro is here to educate, enlighten, and engage. Since launching Beer. Diversity. in 2018, Ren has become a known name at breweries, wineries, distilleries, and beyond. She has given talks on diversity and inclusion at several colleges and countless festivals, panels, radio shows, and podcasts throughout North America. In addition to being a diversity educator, she is a craft beer consultant for bars and restaurants in Ontario and an educator for countless businesses throughout the country.
Canada Beer Cup Judge Joe Wiebe

Joe Wiebe

Canada

Joe Wiebe is the “Thirsty Writer,” the author of Craft Beer Revolution: The Insider’s Guide to B.C. Breweries, the definitive guidebook to British Columbia’s burgeoning craft beer industry. Joe writes regular columns for the Growler, Northwest Brewing News, Vancouver View, UrbanDiner.ca, and the BC Craft Beer News, as well as beer-soaked stories in British Columbia magazine, BCBusiness, WestWorld, Beer West, Taps, Publican, NUVO, Taste, Alive and Boulevard. Joe is a co-founder and co-producer of Victoria Beer Week and the BC Ale Trail project. He produced the Victoria Beer Map, and is the beer columnist for CBC Radio’s All Points West and BC Almanac programs. He acts as a beer judge for the Okanagan Fest of Ale and the BC Beer Awards.

Canada Beer Cup Judge Don Tse

Don Tse

Canada

Don Tse is a beer writer and consultant known globally as The Don of Beer. He has been active in craft beer for over 20 years and is a BJCP National ranked judge. He has sampled and written tasting notes on over 24,000 different beers. Don has also written for magazines and presented on beer in Canada, the United States, the United Kingdom, Australia, Ukraine and Singapore.

Get the latest updates in your inbox.

Sign up for the CCBA newsletter for updates on the Canada Beer Cup and the latest industry news.

Canadian Craft Brewers Association
Association des Microbrasseries Canadiennes
info@ccba-ambc.org
1400-340 Albert St., Ottawa, ON
K1R 7Y6